top of page
Search
  • BrynDavies

Lockdown lifting

It’s now been 11 weeks in lockdown (honestly I’ve lost track) and it’s certainly started to bite! As it begins to ease though I look forward to next year and trying to prepare the best I can.


Having thought what will be most beneficial to work on during the period of no racing, I have decided to set my sights on 2021 and my first year of under 23. Some people may think that this crisis is a big hinderance, and yes it’s not ideal, however it’s a great opportunity to get a head start for the longer, harder races I will be doing next year!


As it looks like there isn’t going to be much, if any, junior races this year, I have decided that longer rides similar to pre season is the best training to do. This means I can get the most of the nice weather (when it’s not pouring with rain) and build a good, solid base ahead of the year to come. I am excited and motivated to get the best out of myself ahead of the big step up to the senior races!


While the weather has been great I have been enjoying new places on rides that have been longer and therefore taking me further from my local roads. This has kept my moral high and kept me hungry to keep doing longer rides.


*A questionable road*


On the topic of races, I am certainly missing them! The nice weather has reminded me of smashing up a climb and cruising round the peloton and it’s certainly not the same without it! I tried Zwift racing however it’s just not the same and too boring for my easily distracted mind.


With local racing set to make a come back in august (covid-19 permitting) I am looking forward to once again being able to race round the local crit circuit! The thought of this, as well as u23 next year, is keeping my motivation and spirits high and helping me focus hard during training.


On another note I have been really enjoying mountain biking at my local trails and have even dabbled in trail building. While I wasn’t particularly good when I started, with the trails being mainly downhill stuff, I have found my skills and confidence on the bike have come on loads. This is something I am keen to keep up when racing comes back and really feel has improved my ability not only on the mountain bike but also on the road!


*A bridge which I built to prevent certain death over this gap*

In the next few weeks I will be continuing to improve my endurance with longer rides and strength work.


Hwyl

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page